The last picture taken of Satao in Kenya. Image courtesy of Aetopia.

“It is with enormous regret that we confirm that there is no doubt that Satao is dead, killed by an ivory poacher’s poisoned arrow to fill the seemingly insatiable demand for ivory in far off countries. A great life is lost so that someone far away can have a trinket on their mantelpiece. Rest in peace, old friend, you will be missed.”  

—Richard Moller, Chief Conservation Officer of the Tsavo Trust (June 13, 2014)


Satao (c. 1968–2014) was one of Africa’s largest elephant tuskers—called as such because his tusks were so long that they almost touched the ground—killed by poachers using a poisoned arrow on May 30, 2014 in Kenya’s Tsavo East National Park managed by The Tsavo Trust. With his tusks being violently cut off and his face so badly mutilated, he wasn’t officially declared dead until June 13, 2014 at age 46. 


In Roman History, the Centurion was the most faithful and loyal field officer in the Roman Legion and to be appointed as such was the highest honor among the Roman Legatus legionis magistros. Hence, he was put in charge of his centuriae, or tribe that numbers one hundred. Inspired by those ancient warriors and in memory of Satao, we recognize our first one hundred advocates, donors, friends, and supporters in helping build and support our organizational mission and vision. These 100 are our early believers and we are honored by their teamwork and their commitment to our success. To us, they truly are special.

Each Centurion that we recognize receives a gold lapel pin version of our “Shield” so that they may be reminded of their commitment to our cause and as a token of our tremendous appreciation for their support. In addition, their name will be chiseled on our entrance wall in our permanent office that is yet to be determined.

The 100 are:

Allan James G. Rubio MBA, Amy Okimoto, Anne Dillon, Annette Junker, Anonymous, ARS Humanité, ARS Politique, Art and Chris Leonard, Ashley Prout McAvey MEM, Barrie Arliss, Bryan Christy, Candace M. Frieboes, Carol Castellani, Christina LaMonica, Cindy Angelo, Connor Evans, Dr. Douglas E. Green, Dream Out Loud Productions, Dustin Thibideau, Emma Jane Cadman-Willis, Dr. Eugene V. Millar, Francisca N. Barker, George Logan Elliott, Esq., Harriet Croome, Hannah Mulvany, Jamie Joseph, Dr. Jan-Kees Schakel, Jen Samuel, Jennifer Brett Gillane, Jennifer Cole Steele, Jennifer Ellis Cox, Jessie C. Gaumer RN, Joan Huddleston, Joel Gutierrez, CSM John E. Blue (U.S. Army, Ret.), Judith Lewis, Kinte Whitehead, Kyle Kirby, Lacey Grey, Dr. Laurel Neme, Lisa Kane JD, Lynn K. Gregory, Maria Heddleson Blue, Maria Lourdes G. Rubio CPA, Mark Eclavea MBA, Meredith L. Shirrell, Michelle L. Hanson MS, Nicole Rojas, Norm Ryang, Rachel Mae Sandico, Rashada Whitehead, Lt.-Col. Ric Cole (U.K. Royal Army), Robert F. Ciciora, Robin Galloway, Dr. Sam K. Wasser, Seth Hill, Sheri J. Thompson, Dr. Stuart J. and Mrs. Elaine Shankland, Tamiko Wagner, Terri Mitchell, Timothy Redman, Victoria Chinnell, Wendie Wendt JD, Wesley Thompson (U.K. Royal Marines, Ret.), Will Brenner, and Will Cox.

We are forever grateful for their courage and also for their talent, time, and treasure.

“All the darkness in the world cannot extinguish the light of a single candle.” 

—Saint Francis de Assisi (1181-1226)